Hey there,
So yesterday I ranted a bit about passive aggression and germs. Today I was going to take the day off from opinions, rants, commentary of any kind. That wasssss until my 7 year old daughter just whined at me that she is bored. Not BORED, quick and to the point but drawn out "I'mmmmmm borrrreeeeedddd", high pitched and accompanying the absolute worst fake cry, ever.
I'm an awful Mother.... I responded by saying "I don't want to hear it, if you live the kind of life where you have time to be bored, I got no sympathy for you Sister love"
Me with the Western Civ II exam final looming over my every waking moment...(cry me a river kiddo) Now I am completely aware that I CHOSE school and I know that I should not be impatient because I have to study while they get to be bored with all the playing...(OMG) And honestly I don't think that is it, although I will admit I would saw off my right leg for boredom right now...I think what really irks me so, is that kids these days are so different from what I was when I was seven. I can remember playing with ants on the side of the road in front of Willoughby St. for hours before I ever would have gone in and said to my Mother "I'm bored"
My good bud Steph pointed out a similar sentiment last night on her Facebook status. She said that kids are desensitized to the magic of Christmas specials because they are constant cartoon consumers. We were Saturday morning only kids, and the month of December with Frosty and Rudolph was magical indeed.
I miss those days profoundly. I am almost considering shutting off my cable. I miss simplicity and imagination and quiet play. I long for a day when my kids won't ask "what are we doing today?"
I long for just being and a lot less doing.
Popular Posts
-
We meet again, me and my purple lap top... I am sitting on my front porch, DESPERATELY trying to escape Motherhood. Call me wicked, awful, ...
-
Oh my god I am back again... This rain shit has got me trapped in my house and this is a no good situation , me and rainy weather have prob...
-
Have you ever craved something so much, that to not get it makes you literally insane? I am right there, right now, in this very stupid f...
-
Good Morning Peeps, Well I hope your morning has been better than mine, but we won't get into that. I am however going to man bash a bi...
-
Good Morning folks, Wow what a rainy day in Virginia - have I mentioned I don't do the rain well? I realized this morning that I have ...
-
Welcome ! My very first blog. I have wasted most of my day, stuck in a mood that won't let me go. All week long my family has been houn...
-
So apparently cliff hangers are the way to go.... This section of the story is uncomfortable to write and will be, if he ever reads it, unc...
-
Thanks to those who were interested enough in what I had to say to actually read my first blog. I am returning after the most surreal, epic...
-
Good Morning blog peeps, So I just went through my two blogs from yesterday and did some much needed editing - holy typos batman. I really ...
-
Good Tuesday Morning, sigh.....I am up and at it today. Waiting for my pin curls to dry and then I am off. Does everyone know what pin curls...
omfg deb, laughing so hard @ "sister love"...
ReplyDeletemy grammar school teacher used to say "only boring people get bored...