Good cold ass December morning,
So I have been thinking a lot about passive/aggressive behavior and unfortunately not by choice....It's up in my face every time I turn around. At the grocery store, at work, in the line at the bank....It confuses me. What the hell is happening that adults cannot effectively communicate? What kind of example are we providing our youth? Now I say "we" loosely here because I literally, do not suffer from this ailment. I am direct and confrontational and if I feel it well damn it I am just going to say it, because after all it's what I REALLY FEEL. I just do not know any other way to be and based on what I see around me in other adults, I have to be honest I wouldn't want to be any other way. Now, I am not implying that by saying what I honestly feel, I have license to be hurtful or mean, quite to the contrary actually. I try very hard to live by my Nana's rule and example, "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all." There are plenty of instances where people piss me off, make me nuts by way of annoyance or their outfit is just plain wrong, but those thoughts stay in my head and dissipate rather quickly once my conscience interjects and asks me "who the hell are you?"(these thoughts are just my dark side poking private fun) I have learned over my lifetime, it is far MORE productive to tell people how fabulous they anyways, and that HONEST expression rules.
Sometimes however, life does require you to communicate feelings that are uncomfortable. Do it, just do it. Do it calmly and respectfully and minus as much anger and aggression as possible, but do it. Life is not just all syrupy sweet. There is without a doubt a shit ton of honest to God ugly. It is an unavoidable fact of life. But Jesus, just do it rather than passively smile a smile that communicates I want to drive my fist in your face.
I CAN'T STAND THAT SHIT. If you are uncomfortable communicate it effectively rather than stomp and slam and act like a child throwing a tantrum. Speak. Say "hey that makes me really uncomfortable, could we talk about it?" RATHER than, banging shit and rolling eyes and looking as though you smell something foul...
I say talk about it. Be a lover not a fighter, rather than a fighter who pretends to be a lover.
It scares me is all. Is this where we are headed? It's everywhere I turn. And what does that mean for the future??? How will we problem solve, how will we handle conflict? If this frame of mind becomes the norm, the human race is just screwed period.
I am sad about it and wish that everyone would just talk more...
Popular Posts
-
We meet again, me and my purple lap top... I am sitting on my front porch, DESPERATELY trying to escape Motherhood. Call me wicked, awful, ...
-
Oh my god I am back again... This rain shit has got me trapped in my house and this is a no good situation , me and rainy weather have prob...
-
Have you ever craved something so much, that to not get it makes you literally insane? I am right there, right now, in this very stupid f...
-
Good Morning Peeps, Well I hope your morning has been better than mine, but we won't get into that. I am however going to man bash a bi...
-
Good Morning folks, Wow what a rainy day in Virginia - have I mentioned I don't do the rain well? I realized this morning that I have ...
-
Welcome ! My very first blog. I have wasted most of my day, stuck in a mood that won't let me go. All week long my family has been houn...
-
So apparently cliff hangers are the way to go.... This section of the story is uncomfortable to write and will be, if he ever reads it, unc...
-
Thanks to those who were interested enough in what I had to say to actually read my first blog. I am returning after the most surreal, epic...
-
Good Morning blog peeps, So I just went through my two blogs from yesterday and did some much needed editing - holy typos batman. I really ...
-
Good Tuesday Morning, sigh.....I am up and at it today. Waiting for my pin curls to dry and then I am off. Does everyone know what pin curls...
No comments:
Post a Comment